basketball-hall-of-fame NEA

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 2017 inductee class on Saturday. Two-time NBA scoring champion Tracy McGrady and Kansas head coach Bill Self headline the 11 person class.

McGrady and Self will be joined in Springfield by Rebecca Lobo, Zack Clayton, Nikos Galis, Mannie Jackson, Tom Jernstedt, Jerry Krause, George McGinnis, Muffet McGraw., and Robert Hughes.


A seven-time All-Star, McGrady played for six NBA franchises and averaged 19.6 points, 5.6 rebounds, and 4.4 assists per game in his 15-year career.

“This is the elite, this is the ultimate,” McGrady said in an interview on ESPN. “You’re talking about a guy that came from high school to the pros. And now in the Hall of Fame? I never imagined in my career that this moment would be happening so quick – I’m only 37.”


Self, who’s still coaching the Jayhawks, has led Kansas to 12 Big 12 conference titles and a National Championship win in 2008.

“The thing that I think hit me the soonest was the journey And certainly how many people have played a significant role in helping me and putting me in a position,” Self told “And the more I thought about that, the list just grows and grows and grows. And certainly very humbled by it.” Lobo NEA

Lobo led the 1995 Connecticut women’s basketball team to the school’s first National Championship and a 35-0 record. She then won an Olympic Gold Medal at the 1996 Atlanta games. Lobo went on to play six seasons WNBA.

Jerry Krause won six NBA Championships as the General Manager of the Chicago Bulls in the 1990s. Krause was responsible for assembling one of the most successful lineups in NBA history.

Robert Hughes enters the Hall as the winningest high school basketball coach of all time with 1,333 career wins.

Harlem Globetrotters player, owner, and CEO Mannie Jackson along with Globetrotter star Zack Clayton will also be making their way to Springfield.

The induction ceremonies will take place in Springfield Massachusetts September 7th through 9th.